Liebster Award

Hello Stranger.  🙂  It’s been a while since we talked.  I just wanted you to know that I haven’t forgotten about you.  But, life has been hectic the last couple of weeks.  I know I should take time to pay more attention to you.  It isn’t that I have stopped writing.  I have been, but it hasn’t been the “fun” kind of writing that I would do if I were with you.  No, I have to pay more attention to a formal type of writing.  Essay writing.  I have to keep in mind writing rules, margin sizes, double spacing, MLA format.  Ugh!  It’s been a long time since I have done this kind of writing.  I need to Google search MLA format. In any case, I decided to take a break from all that and have some “fun” writing time.  I have missed you.  And, I want you to know, I think about you everyday. . . .

It’s been a long time since I have had time to write to my blog.  In fact, it is Saturday.  I have a class at 8:30 A.M., but I woke up extra early so I could post something here.  I feel like I needed to.  This week, my fellow blogger at Cultivating Questioners (cultivatingquestioners.com) nominated me for the Liebster Award.  This award is given in an effort to encourage and recognize emerging bloggers and to spur connections between bloggers.  I was surprised and honored to receive the nomination.

liebster2

When I first started writing this blog, I was only writing for myself, family, and close friends.  I never thought anyone else would be interested in what I have to write or say.  But, I realize that I have been able to learn and communicate with so many different people.  Some of these folks I have never even met.  I am hoping I am doing the same in return with my blog.

So now, I am supposed to answer a few questions.

1. What do you value most in life?
What I value most in life is life itself.  I know that sounds cliche, but I am glad that I have each day, and I try very hard to appreciate every single one of those days.

2. What activities do you enjoy and why?
At the moment, I am enjoying going to the gym to do my KaiaFit workouts.  I go to classes with my good friend (and neighbor), Nicole.  Nicole and I also run and participate in triathlons.  I am not any good, but I enjoy the social aspect of these activities.

3. What is something you wish you had more time for?
I wish I had more time to travel.  I love reaching a destination and exploring that space for a little while.  I love how I feel when I am on vacation-relaxed and less stressed out.

4. What is one change you would like to make in the world?
I am not sure about this question.  I think it would have something to do with solving social and racial injustice.

5. What is something you would like change about yourself?
Besides wanting to lose a few pounds, I would like to be less stressed out.  I am still trying not to sweat the small stuff.  It’s a work in progress.

6. What “big” question do you often ponder?
I am wondering if I will get in trouble for not answering all these questions!  (See Question 4.)  🙂  Seriously, I often wonder what my purpose in life is.  I think I am still searching for that answer.

7. What surprises you most about your life — something good in your life that you hadn’t expected, dreamed of, or thought possible?
I am surprised that I am the mother of 3 daughters.  They are wonderful, beautiful, young women.  Every day they never cease to amaze me.  Oh, and I am also married to a wonderful, supportive man.  We just celebrated our 19th wedding anniversary this past February.

8. What sorts of things amuse you?
Sometimes my own kids say the funniest things.  It is amusing to me to see how their teenage minds justify happenings in their world.  Believe me.  It’s a whole different world!

9. What is something you can’t do without?
Okay, I know this sounds bad.  But, I cannot live without my iPhone.  I can’t imagine how I survived without it.  I get anxious if I think my iPhone is not in my purse.  I know.  I have a problem.  I think an intervention is in my future.

10. What do you like to collect?
I don’t collect this purposefully, but I love shoes.  I have a lot of shoes much to my husband’s dismay.  I cannot resist a nice looking pair of pumps or boots.  Okay, another intervention is in my future.

Okay, now I think I am supposed to nominate someone else for the Liebster Award.  My nomination is going to my friend, Kim.  Her blog is called Thinking Through My Lens.  I love reading her blog because she incorporates the things she loves into it-writing and photography.  Kim is pretty amazing.  She also encouraged me to start my own blog.  So, if it wasn’t for her, I wouldn’t be here right now!  That is why I am nominating Kim’s blog for the Liebster Award.

One thought on “Liebster Award

Leave a Reply

