Home At Last

It is so great to be home.  Here is the weather from this afternoon.  A big difference compared to the weather in Maryland last week.

weather

The first thing my husband said to me when we arrived home late last night was, “It will be so nice to sleep in our own bed.”  I had to agree with him, especially since our family of five shared a hotel suite for a week.  It was a bit cramped.  When the girls were younger, this didn’t seem to be too much of an issue.  But, I think now, we are getting to the point where we may have to get two hotel rooms when we go on these trips.  My husband is in denial about the whole thing.  I keep trying to tell him it would solve a lot of problems if we got two rooms, like space and deciding sleeping arrangements.  Who was going to get the sofa bed?  Who would get the roll-away bed?  I don’t know what my husband’s issue is with this whole idea.  Maybe it’s the money, or maybe he likes being is small spaces with all of us.   Fortunately, there were a few nights when two of our girls spent the night at my sister-in-law’s house.  That left my older daughter, my husband, and me to share the hotel suite.  That wasn’t too bad.

I am reminded of the book, The Relatives Came, by Cynthia Rylant.

Relatives

I know this story takes place in the summer, and we were visiting relatives in the winter.  But, the part of the story I can relate to is where all the relatives are sleeping in different rooms of the house.

It was different going to sleep with all that new breathing in the house.

I won’t lie to you.  We are a family of “breathers.”  🙂  So, I have to agree with my husband.  It was nice sleeping in the quiet of our own bedroom.  And, the girls didn’t have to fight over who got to sleep where.  They each have their own bedrooms.

Now, I am waiting for the last load of laundry to finish drying so I can fold it.  I am thinking through my lesson plans for tomorrow.  I wish I had another week off to recuperate from the week off I just had!  I am going to bed as soon as my laundry is done.  An early morning workout is planned and then it’s off to work.  It’s the end of my vacation.  Time to get back to reality.

Leave a Reply

