Home, At Last

Oh man.  It is so nice to finally be home.  I call this one of the longest days I have ever had.  It all started at 4:15 this morning.  I went for my 5:00 workout.  Then, I went to work where I had an early morning meeting with parents.  I am inheriting a student from another 2nd grade classroom.  After school, I attended a computer fair.  For an hour and a half, I listened to two presenters who were trying to sell us their product.  My school is finally getting a computer refresh after about 7 years.  We were supposed to get new computers 3 years ago.  Following this meeting, I was able to grab a bite to eat with my colleague.  Then, we proceeded to return to school for “Bluegrass Night.”  We had a bluegrass band play a mini-concert, and we asked for donations at the door.  The donations will support our science program.  There was a lot of singing and dancing.  It was a fun evening.

I arrived home at 7:30.  My poor kids.  They were on their own for dinner.  My husband is out of town for a business trip, so he couldn’t help out with dinner.  However, I don’t envy him.  He is in Wisconsin where the weather is 5 degrees!!  He called and said he tried to take a walk, but only lasted 3 blocks before he had to turn around and go back to his hotel.  He thought he might get frost bite.

I did not get to relax when I got home.  My girls had needs.  I had to help with homework and find missing articles of clothing.  I took some time to check my emails and Twitter.  At the present moment, I am typing this blog.  Yes, it is wonderful to be home.  I can take a few minutes for myself.  I can be still in the comfort of my home.  I am grateful to be here.

Leave a Reply

