Back To School

I don’t know about you, but I had trouble getting to sleep last night.  I meant to go to bed early so I could be fresh and energized for today.  However, that did not work out for me.  At 9:00 P.M. last night, my daughter, Allison, announced that the new episode of Downton Abbey was on.  I have been waiting so long for this episode to begin that I stayed up 2 hours to watch it.  Then, I had to watch the local coverage of the news to watch the Chargers return home from their victory in Cincinatti!  🙂

I didn’t get to bed until 11:30 P.M.  My mind was revved up.  I was excited to return to my classroom.  I started thinking of my plans for today.  I could not get my mind to stop thinking.  Has anyone ever had this happen?  I had to turn my brain off.  I tried to concentrate on my breathing.  In reality, I started thinking about the time.  My friend, Nicole, was picking me up at 4:50 A.M. this morning to go workout.  Ugh.  If I didn’t get to sleep I would only get about 5 hours of sleep.  I managed to get there, but it was fitful.

The workout was great fun.  One of the instructors said just think how much you are accomplishing right now while everyone else is still asleep!  In any case, I was awake and ready for the day.  I got to work earlier than usual.  I went through my morning routine.  Click here to read about that.  I went to my classroom immediately after I finished my breakfast just to make sure my plans were in order and I had everything I needed to get through the day.  My student teacher arrived and I spoke with her briefly until the bell rang.

I collected my students from the playground and we headed to the classroom.  One of my students actually told me she missed me over the break.  (Remember my 2014 word of the year was love?  Well, here was a clear example of love showing itself!).  I told her I missed her, too.  🙂  It was amazing how the students got back into the routine of the classroom.  We managed to change seating assignments today, too.  It’s a new year, so it’s time for a new spot in the classroom.  Change is good.  One change I noticed immediately is how many students, mostly boys, got their haircut over the break.  It’s a new year, time for a new look.

We managed to get a lot done today.  We continued our work on Opinion/Argument writing.  Before the break we wrote product reviews.  Now, we are going to try writing book reviews.  In math, we practiced creating tables to organize information.  We wrote comparison statements about the information.  We had a very productive day.  I can’t wait to see what tomorrow will bring.

Leave a Reply

