Happy New Year

Just got back from my morning run.   It was a gorgeous morning.  Here’s a picture of the view from the top of the hill where I turn around to head home.

view

I figured I should take some time to post this morning because I won’t have much time to write this evening.  We will be celebrating with friends.

The first thing I did when I returned home was look at my Twitter.  I read two posts that caught my eye.  One was by Kevin Hodgson (@dogtrax).  He posted today about the top 10 things he did in 2013.  He called it Reflecting on 2013:  Life’s A Blur-Make a List.  I thought it would be fun to think of a Top 10 list, but I didn’t do that many things this year.  He said one of the reasons he blogs is so that he can record what he was up to this year.  I did that, but I don’t have 10 things on my list.  Instead, I will go with my top 8.  🙂  #8)  Partipating in the #nerdlution challenge  #7)  Beginning work on my administrative credential  #6)  Celebrating an hour of code with my 2nd graders  #5)  Participating in the Mentor Text Challenge (SDAWP Voices)  #4)  Celebrating National Day on Writing with my 2nd graders and Twitter friends  #3)  Participating in SDAWP Photo Challenges (SDAWP Photo Voices)  #2)  Starting my blog  #1)  Becoming an SDAWP fellow.  Even though I only have a Top 8 list, that sure was a lot accomplished!

The other blog post I read was by Michelle Haseltine (@mhaseltine).  Her post was entitled, From Still To Risk, 2014 Word of the Year.  She said,

I don’t make resolutions. Resolutions make me feel less than and I don’t
want to start the year feeling like a failure. In 2009, I discovered One Little
Word as an alternative. I’ve been picking a word of the year since 2009.

I thought that was a great idea.  What would I pick as my word of the year?  I decided my word will be love.  Everything I do has to be grounded in love.  It should be present in everything I do.  I will also have to remember to show my love in words and actions to the people I deal with every day.  I realize love is what keeps me going.  I also know that if I give love, I will get love.  It all makes sense to me.

With that I want to wish everyone a Happy New Year.  I can’t wait to see what 2014 brings.  Most importantly, I am excited to see how love will show itself every day.

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year

  1. Jude, Love this entry. Make your word or focus word a “password” so you’ll think of it everyday and very often. It works! Btw, have you tried any of the Chopra meditation challenges? I think you’d like them.

    Happy new year!

    Lulu

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

