A Short Post

I don’t really feel much like posting anything today.  My aunt is in the hospital tonight.  She’s been there for a few days.  Apparently, she had a heart attack and was admitted to the hospital.  My aunt is 82 years old.  I just heard from my cousin and she informed me that my aunt isn’t doing well at all.  Her vital signs are not improving.  So now, my brother, sister, and I are trying to coordinate. We have to get my mother to Los Angeles where my aunt is.  It is early evening here.  Visiting hours are over at the hospital.  I believe my brother will take my mom tomorrow morning.

I am very upset by this news, but not as upset as my mother.  This is my mom’s only sister.  They had a large family in the Philippines.  I learned that there were 12 of them altogether, but only 4 of them survived growing up in the province of Lemery, Batangas.  2 brothers and 2 sisters.  Mom is the youngest.  My two uncles passed away several years ago, so it has always been my mom and my aunt.  I am thinking that soon mom will be the only one.

This news has made me realize what is important, especially at this time of the year.  The connections we make with others outweighs all the pretty packages that are wrapped under my tree.  You can’t take anyone forgranted.  I am going to make sure I take time to give hugs and tell the people who are important to me how much I love them.    That’s what is important.

Leave a Reply

