Hello Winter Break!

Today seemed to go by very quickly. Part of that has to do with the fact that we got out early today. Friday is a minimum day at my school and students are dismissed at 12:55. My class also had a holiday party, so that also took a bit of time. The party wasn’t happening until after recess, so we spent the morning working on assignments that weren’t finished yet. My students understood the expectations. They worked hard because the party was important to them.

We had a great time at our party. My students made cards for children at Rady’s Children’s Hospital.

cards1

cards2

We also did a holiday Minute To Win It game. The stations were fun. One had to do with jingle bells. We filled an empty kleenex box with jingle bells and tied the box around a student’s waist. The box was in back. Students had to try and empty the box of bells by jumping up and down.  Another station had a candy cane and nuts.  Students had to stack the nuts with the candy cane.  They were not allowed to use their hands.

candycane

There was a Hershey’s Kisses sort.  Students had to sort a basket of Hershey’s Kisses into piles.

sort

Finally, there was a cup stacking station.

cups

My students were also able to make graham cracker Santas which they ate with a cup of hot cocoa.  It was a wonderful party.

santa

Even though it was a minimum day.  I am exhausted.  So much activity and excitement can be draining.  I was proud of myself for having left work at 3:30 today.  That was early for me!  Now, I am looking forward to relaxing and celebrating this holiday season with my family and friends.  I am thankful for this break to help me get re-energized and ready for the next half of the school year.

2 thoughts on “Hello Winter Break!

Leave a Reply

