A Long Day

What’s wrong with this picture??

car

This picture was taken around 5:30 P.M. in my school parking lot.  The only problem with this picture is that it is still in the school parking lot at 5:30!!  As you can see there are no other cars around me, except for that one in the far stall.  That happens to be the afternoon custodian’s car.  He was leaving as I got into my car.  The other cars (not seen in the photograph) are those of parents coming to pick their kids up from the after school care program we have at our school.

I wanted to leave at a decent time, but it just wasn’t possible for me today.  We had a staff meeting right after school.  Then, I had to go back to my classroom and write substitute teacher plans.  I am going to be absent tomorrow because I have a doctor’s appointment in the afternoon.  As a result, I needed to get the plans ready for the substitute.  I realized I needed to put together a packet of work for the students to complete in my absence, so I spent most of my time copying and stapling things the sub would need.  I could have had one of my room parents do that for me, but I just wasn’t that organized this morning!  I am one of those teachers that just doesn’t like to leave things hanging.  As much as possible, I want the learning to continue so that when I return, I can just pick up where we left off.  I hate being out of the classroom, but sometimes it cannot be helped.  I know one thing.  I appreciate the work that the substitute teachers do.  It is hard to come into a situation and not know the curriculum or the routines of the classroom.  That’s another reason why I try to leave detailed plans.  I think the substitute teachers appreciate it.  At least I hope they do!

In the end, there was really nothing wrong with the picture.  It was just a long day.  My car was alone and in the dark.  In 2014, I am going to try very hard to go home when the sun is still out.  I hope I can do it.  🙂

Leave a Reply

