Veteran’s Day

Last Friday, my school celebrated Veteran’s Day by honoring parents who serve or have served in the Armed Forces.  It has been a tradition for the past several years.  The junior ROTC color guard from our local high school was on hand to present the colors.  My principal sang the National Anthem.  A co-worker and I read some facts about Veteran’s Day.  Following this, the second graders sang America The Beautiful/This is the Land I Love.  We invite veterans to the front to introduce themselves.  Then, for the grand finale, the whole student body sings The Armed Forces Medley.  It really is a nice way to honor the men and women who protect our freedom.

image

On Veteran’s Day, I like to take a moment to appreciate my day off from work.  I am proud to say that I am the daughter of a veteran.  And, I am also married to a veteran.  My husband served in the Navy for 5 years.  Prior to that he was a midshipman for 4 years.  He loved his time being a surface warfare officer.  He actually served during Desert Storm.  He learned many life lessons by being in the Navy.  My husband left the Navy shortly after we were married, because he knew how hard it was on military families and the sacrifices they had to make.  Today, my husband works for a biotech company.  However, he still values his military service.  He is part of a veterans club at work.  The club does community service for local veterans and military families.  Today, my husband had to go to work, but they are going to honor his service by hosting a lunch for all the veterans of his company.

Uniform
circa early 1990s

My father was also a Navy man.  He started out as an enlisted man and worked up to the rank of Chief Petty Officer.  My dad served during the Vietnam War.  Amazingly, he stayed in the Navy for 20 years before he retired.  My dad did not want a big ceremony.  He was not that kind of person.  However, my dad was very patriotic.  He was able to become a United States citizen because of his service in the Navy.  He loved this country very much.  My dad passed away in 2005.  When he died he had a military burial.

dad1
circa 1960s

Even though I appreciate my day off, I know it would not be possible without people like my husband or my father.  For me, it is not just another day off from work.  It is a day to say thank you to all the men and women who keep our country safe.  It’s a day when I say that I am proud to be an American.  Happy Veteran’s Day.

One thought on “Veteran’s Day

Leave a Reply

