Welcome 3-Day Weekend!

My goal was to leave work by 5:00 today.  I almost made it.  I left at 5:15.  I know.  What person in their right mind stays at work that late when it is a 3-day weekend??

School normally gets out on Friday at 12:55.  It is a minimum day.  My school time banks, so we stay a little later Monday through Thursday so we can have a minimum day.  I had every intention of getting out of my classroom so I could enjoy the weekend, but then I remembered I volunteered to be on the interview team.  We are hiring a new impact teacher because our other impact teacher got a permanent teaching job at another school.  There were several candidates, so that took some time.  I did not get back to my room until 3:00.

I swear.  I could find 100 things to do in my classroom that would keep me there all night!  Once I get one project done, I see something else that needs to be completed.  I finally get to a point where I just have to stop.  Most times I bring work home, like cutting or stapling.  When my daughters were younger they loved to help me with these tasks.  However, now they are busy with their own activities and homework that they don’t wish to help me anymore.  I brought home some paper that I need to staple into sketch books for art.  I also brought home some templates to make ten frames for math.  I am still trying to figure out the best way to create these for my students.  If anyone has any suggestions on creating and/or using ten frames, I would love to hear them.

For now, I just opened an ice cold beer to enjoy.  My husband is cooking something up on the grill. We have been having hot and humid weather where I live.  The beer is nice and refreshing.  The barbecue is making my tummy rumble.  I will get to my sketch book and ten frames projects later, maybe tomorrow.  Right now I have decided to enjoy blogging, beer, and barbecue.  Hope everyone has a wonderful Labor Day weekend!

Leave a Reply

