What I Know About Reading

Today I asked my students to write about what they knew about reading. I got this idea when I read Aimee Buckner’s book Notebook Connections: Strategies for the Reader’s Notebook.

At first I was skeptical as to what 2nd graders could come up with.  I was impressed by some of the ideas that were shared.  One student said she knew that reading helped her learn.  Another student said that when she read she learned new facts.  Still another student said if she could read, she knew she could write.  BINGO!  I am so glad someone in the class made that reading-writing connection.

While the students were writing their thoughts, I took a moment to respond to the prompt in my own journal.  I won’t write everything I said here.  I did write down that as a child, I was not a huge reading fan.  In fact, I would always choose to play outside over reading a book.  However, as an adult, I have come to realize how much I depend on reading in my everyday life.  Not a day goes by when I don’t read something.  My list included reading street signs, student work, teacher resources, emails, blogs, recipes, newspapers, and magazines.  I cannot imagine my life without reading.  Now I love to read.

Of course I shared my thoughts with my students.  I have a feeling there might be one or two students who feel now the way I felt back then about reading.  I hope I am able to ignite that love of reading before they leave my classroom.  If not, I hope I have planted the seeds that will bloom later on in their lives.

Leave a Reply

