Happy Friday!

As one of my co-workers said, “Only 177 more days to go!”  🙂  Ha!  Is that all?  The first three days of school are done, and I am exhausted!  I keep thinking that it wasn’t even a full week of teaching.  The students just arrived on Wednesday.  Next week will be a whole different story.  Five straight days of teaching, but then we will have a three-day weekend due to Labor Day.

I have to say that I am enjoying my kiddos thus far.  They are very sweet and listen well.  But, it is only day 3.  I have to share one incident that happened today.  I called my students to the carpet area to read them a story.  It was a book by Julia Cook called, The Worst Day of My Life Ever!   It’s a story about listening and following directions.

Anyway, the kids were all seated on the carpet waiting, and I could not locate the book.  I had it in my hands and placed it somewhere so I would remember where it was.  But, I could not remember where I placed it!  I began walking around the room looking in all the spots where I might have put it down.  In the mean time, my students sat on the carpet quietly, watching me walk around the room, patiently waiting until I found the book.  WHAT???  That happens very rarely.  Most of the time, students will take the opportunity to talk to their neighbors.  My class just sat there and waited.  It was pretty amazing, and I told them so.

I hope that was a sign which points to a fabulous school year.  I have to be honest and say that I miss my students from last year.  Many of them came back to my class to say hello and give me a hug this week.  One of the fourth grade teachers told me a cute story about the students I gave to him this year.  They were doing some kind of human graph where they had to go to a certain spot when the name of their last teacher was called.  When my old students got in a group, one of the boys said, “Okay Kozak Kids, we have to stick together!”  That made me smile.  I spend a lot of time trying to build community in my classroom.  These kids had been with me for two years.  It felt like we were a family.  It made me feel wonderful that they still considered themselves a part of my class.  Sigh.  I am hoping to get that feeling again with this group of kids.  I am going to work hard to make that happen.

Leave a Reply

