Exploring Possibilities

Sometimes I think I might be going out of my mind.  I have always been interested in pursuing an administrative credential.  I don’t know why.  When I first started teaching 25 years ago, becoming an administrator was never on my radar.  However, I have been thinking that obtaining this credential would be a good move for me as I consider the future.

This particular program is given through the San Diego County Office of Education.  I went to an informational meeting this afternoon.  The program sounds interesting and aligns with my learning style.  If I am accepted (I haven’t even applied yet.), I would belong to a cohort that would meet over a 15 month period.  We would have class at least once a month all day Saturday.  Inquiry-based learning is encouraged.  Then, there are on-line classes.  This works for me since I work full-time.  I am seriously considering it.  My husband, Kevin and I discussed the financial part of it.  He told me I could do it if I didn’t buy anymore shoes and purses!  Ha!  I am not sure I can do that.

Anyway, I have got some things to consider.  I have been weighing the pros and cons.  If I decide to move forward, I have to get everything turned in by September 15th.  I have some time to think about it, but not much.  I think  I am crazy for wanting to take on this work.  However, I feel this will help me to be a better teacher.  I am excited to start a new adventure.

2 thoughts on “Exploring Possibilities

  1. Judy,
    There is no limit to your potential. I think most administrators would say the same thing about never dreaming of becoming a principal in their early years of teaching. No matter what happens, the experience is worth the ride.

Leave a Reply

