Day 1 Down

Today was the first day of school.  And, I have to say, it wasn’t too bad.  For the most part, my students are very sweet.  However, it’s the first day, so they still have that “deer in the headlights” look!

I love the first day of school.  The anticipation of this day kept me up late last night.  I stayed up late trying to plan next week.  I updated my class website (Learning Point).  I had to put the current calendar up.  I had to make sure links to homework were updated.  When I finally hit the hay it was midnight!  Even then, I was tossing and turning because I was nervous about today.  I fell asleep only to wake up before my alarm clock rang.   I hate when that happens.  I tried to go back to sleep but couldn’t.  So, I just woke up and got ready for work.

I must say it feels great to get day 1 under my belt.  Even though ability levels are diverse in my classroom, I am trying to remain positive.  The possibilities are endless!  I took a quick survey.  The majority of my class loves math.  They weren’t too excited by reading and writing.  I hope by the end of the year I can create a shift in their thinking.

I am looking forward to day 2. even though I am completely exhausted.  I think I will go to bed early and catch up on the sleep I missed out on yesterday!  Good night everybody!

Leave a Reply

